SONG TRANSLATION : PAIN AND JOY – GAS FYATU

Watch the music video for Pain and Joy.


PAIN AND JOY TRANSLATION

Translation provided by the artist, Gas Fyatu. Gas is an activist, writer, entrepreneur, and hip hop artist based in Nairobi. He is a member of Ukoo Flani Mau Mau and Moshikali. You can find Gas’ music on youtube. Read his writing at Kwani.

Intro.by FRENCH ARTIST


CHORUS

COME WITH ME/(my honniez)COME WE SING/(my hommies)
COME WITH ME/(rastaman)COME WE SING/(babylons)
PAIN AND JOY/OF EASTLANDS
PAIN AND JOY/OF WESTLAND

VERSE ONE (English)

Pen in my hands I am in my room enjoying solitude
I don’t know who to ask?how to delivers how this lines)
it is like snooker game I don’t know which ball to hit/
in this ghetto the way the rate of single women is increasing in our hoods/ is proportional to the number of emcees releasing too many singles)
All the critics are watching this ocean too big /I got to keep my head up
Sometimes I think leaving this/but I cant hip hop my political party
Lend me your ears as I follow this art like a sinking star/my plate of fate when am hungry
No pain no gain just know/I don’t want slim bodies in my hood/got heavy weight ghetto dreams/do you get it boy?
This rain full of poetry Oo come sing with /come dance to the tunes good and bad stories of my neighbourhood


VERSE ONE (SHENG)

Kalamu kwa mkono niko kwa keja solo
Nikaa ball za pool sijui nigonge ipi
Sijui nummulize mwongolo hizi mistari zitoke vipi?(
Nikaa vile mashory wana opt ku-remain single ndio emcee wana drop too single
Ma-critics wanatazama bahari kubwa maji ya shingo nazama
Na-think kuhama lakini siwezi hip hop chama

Maskio zako sasa na borrow hii sana na I follow ka sinking star plate ya fate niki fee njaa
No pain no gain jua/sitaki kuwa kwa bodies slim nina ghetto dreams heavy weight/una gitch boy
Ni rain ya poetry oo Come sing na me come dance na me mzeiya


VERSE TWO(ENGLISH)

I hear knowadays in the street, they say get the money you get the honey/welcome to eastlands my hood and feel at home/and please come in peace/but don’t forget bring some business/we got bank slave hustlers/economic tough time but in this ghetto we live our lives/living like a soldier/one room /enjoying life pleasures/with our ghetto queens/life a gamble/but there are great moments like marriage dreams in the hood/good things like my man Otty wife got twins/so and so went where since last year?/Jaymo is flying out I heard/bro Kevo stopped smoking weed nowadays he only takes beer/Patty has stuck to khat still/Nimo saw the light and joined Jesus/brotherhood during good times and bad times/Eastland is full of dramas/reggae music blasting from sound woofers on the streets/black hooded hip hop head roaming the streets/watch you back police on your back/COME SING WITH COME DANCE WITH THE STORIES OF THIS GHETTOES

VERSE TWO(SHENG)

NASKIA SIKU HIZI GET THE MONEY GET THE HONEY/KARIBU EASTLAND MTAANI NA UFEEL NYUMBANI/na ukuje na amani/
Lakini usisahau kubeba pesa kuna ma-lords- bank/vijana bank/economy mbaya lakini hood tunaishi
Maisha ki-soldier room moja/pleasure za life kuoja/kando ya bed na ka gheeto queen/pata potea/dreams za kufunga ndoa/vitu poa/kaa otty amepata matwins/nani amepotelea wapi since last year?jaymo ana fly naskia/kevo aliacha gode siku hizi ni ma-beer/paty nimogoka sana nimo ameokoka/ubrother hood kukiwa kupoa ama kubaya tuko/si eastland kuna vituko/reggae na saunya/hip hop nyuma ya black hoodies/wasee mabanga wakudiss

Verse three is by a cultural officer at alliance francaise 2005/06/and current director alliance francaise Zimbabwe/and an artist/ Charles houdart a.k.a hoo

ukoo 1

One comment

  1. Pingback: Mixtape Mistari – Introduction (sample passage) | Kevlexicon

Leave a Reply

